THESE REVIEWS REQUIRE A PREMIUM SUBSCRIPTION TO VIEW

CLICK HERE TO UPGRADE YOUR MEMBERSHIP

2010 Rifle Shootout

Part 1 Review. 

This review covers 17 silencers.  Ten are 556 and seven are in 762.  Two weapons were tested in 556 and the Remington 700 LTR was tested in 762.  Test was conducted October 30, 2010.  Click HERE!

Thompson Machine 22LR Silencer Review!

This review covers three of Thompson Machine's 22LR silencers on the Walther P22, the Ruger MK III with Tactical Solutions Pac-Lite upper and the venerable Ruger 10/22.  Testing included reference AND ear testing.  Click HERE.  Test occurred on September 12, 2010.

Baby 5.56 and 7.62 Silencer Shootout!  

This shootout style review was completed on July 17, 2010 using four 5.56mm silencers and three platforms.  The baby 7.62mm silencers were tested with a 20" Remington 700.  These tests include both reference location and at the ear testing.  Click HERE.

COASTAL ULTIMA REVIEW RELEASED!

 This test included two silencers, one in 40 S&W and one in 45ACP.  Both wet and dry tests were done with multiple ammo types and TWO SOUND METERS were used!!!  This tells you what the dB ratings are at the EAR and the regular location.  The metering was done using one shot and two numbers!!!  Includes velocity readings  Click HERE

 

YHM MULTICALBER REVIEW IS RELEASED!!

 This test was conducted to see how 22LR performed with the YHM Cobra M2 9MM and 45ACP, as well as 9MM thru a YHM 45ACP silencer and MP5 tests are included as well.  Two ammo types were used and this review includes wet and dry testing in certain calibers.  Click HERE

Silencerco Osprey 45

AAC TiRant 45

HTG Cycle II 45

On December 13, 2009 I did a study of three 45 silencers that were touted by the manufacturer as hearing safe DRY.  This is rather a strong claim to make as in the past almost NO silencer could accomplish this.  Read the review by clicking on the picture to the left...

 

2009 9MM Silencer Shootout

On August 15, 2009 we did a shootout with five 9mm silencers.  They were the HTG Cycle2, the SWR Trident 9, the Gemtech Multimount, the YHM Cobra M2 and the new for 2009 Advanced Armament Corp. Ti-Rant 9MM.  Each silencer was tested on the Glock 19 and the HK USP Tactical 9 with Remington UMC 147 grain ammo.

 

2009 9MM Silencer Shootout

On August 15, 2009 I did a study of five 9mm silencers.  They were the Advanced Armament Corp. Evolution 9 old model, the Advanced Armament Corp. Evolution 9 NEW model, the SWR MFG Shadow 9, the Gemtech Tundra, and an older SWR MFG silencer. Each silencer was tested on the Glock 19 and the HK USP Tactical 9 with Remington UMC 147 grain ammo.

 

AAC Ti-Rant vs Gemtech Multimount

In the 2009 9mm shootout, the AAC Ti-Rant and the Gemtech Multimount basically tied for first place on the full sized H&K USP 9SD. I thought it would be prudent to do a shootoff style review where we take each pistol I had not already tested and use two ammo types to see if a true winner could be found.

 

2009 45ACP SHOOTOUT  

The 2009 45ACP Shootout was done on August 15, 2009 and the silencers tested both wet and dry with Remington 45 were:  Gemtech boostered and unboostered Blackside 45, AAC Evolution 45, YHM Cobra M2, SWR MFG HEMS 2, KAC OHG and two new AAC Silencers...the TiRant 45's.  A new standard of sound reduction in 45ACP technology has arrived!

2009 22LR Silencer Shootout.

See same day comparisons of 33 silencers tested on the Walther P22, the Ruger 10/22, and for those silencer rated for 22 Magnum, 17HMR, and 22 Hornet, those tests are available too.  The test also includes the 22LR conversion kit with M16 lower.  Also see instructional videos on how to clean silencers.

2008 Rifle Silencer Shootout 556 Silencers

On October 25th, we performed the largest civilian single day independent silencer test ever conducted in the United States.  Fifteen 556 silencers were tested on 3 different weapons with Nato M855 ball. 

2008 Rifle Silencer Shootout 762/308 Silencers

On October 25th, we performed the largest civilian single day independent silencer test every conducted in the USA.  Eleven 762 silencers were tested on two weapons using Federal Gold Metal Match Sierra 168 grain BTHP.  Click the picture for the reviews.  The Gemtech HVT, the AAC 762SD, and the YHM Phantom 762 were also tested on a 16" 556 upper with M855 ball.  See the individual reviews for those results. 

AAC Prodigy "New Core" Tests

On October 11th, 2008 I tested the new core for the AAC Prodigy.  I also tested the old core that was originally shipped with the silencer, and for comparison the AAC Pilot and SWR Spectre.  Both cores and the two comparison silencers were tested on the Walther P22, the Ruger MK3 with Pac Lite barrel, the Ruger 10/22 and the Russian Tula TOZ-78 bolt action rifle.  The test was conducted to see what improvements were made with the new core.

AWC Abraxas

On September 20th 2008 I did a very extensive review of the AWC Abraxas silencer.  I tested three pistols, with two different kinds of ammunition.  I tested each pistol with each ammunition type dry, wet with water, with grease and with ultrasound gel.  The Glock 26, the Glock 19 and the Beretta 92FS using Remington UMC 147 grain bullets and Alabama Ammo's Special K 147 grain bullets.

 

2008 9MM Silencer Shootout

On August 2, 2008 I did a study of three 9mm silencers.  They were the Advanced Armament Corp. Evolution 9, the SWR Manufacturing Shadow 9, and the Gemtech Tundra. SOON TO BE ARCHIVED

 

2008 9MM Silencer Shootout

On August 2, 2008 I did a study of three 9mm silencers.  They were the HTG Cycle2, the SWR Trident 9 2008 and the new for 2008 Gemtech Multimount. SOON TO BE ARCHIVED

 

HP LLC Operator 45 vs AAC Evolution 45

On August 2, 2008 I tested two 45ACP silencers on a 1911 style pistol.  This was the first time Silencer Research has performed a 45ACP test.  The cans were tested both wet and dry.

 

Colt 635 Submachine Gun Testing

On August 2, 2008 I did some testing on the Colt 635 style submachinegun.  I tested the Advanced Armament Evolution 9, the SWR Manufacturing Shadow 9 and the Gemtech Tundra.  All of these silencers are 1.25OD silencers.

 

AAC Evolution 9 vs Gemtech Tundra 3-Lug Mount Tests

I tested a Colt 635 style upper for the M16/AR15 family of weapons and also tested a factory German MP5 Submachine Gun.  The AAC Evolution 9 and the Gemtech Tundra were both fitted with the AAC Triad adapter and two type of ammunition were tested.